A Westeros Confession

by strassur

I have a confession. I just recently started watching the HBO adaptation of George R.R. Martin’s Game of Thrones.  For anyone who knows me, my delay in seeing these shows is insane since I love all things medieval and fantasy.  I just finished season 1 and so far am loving it, and hating it. Hating it because of the characters I want to reach into the screen and choke, like King Geoffrey.  I am sure most share my feelings, and if justice comes later in the series, please try not to spoil it for me.  Loving it because the characters are great, the setting is breathtaking, the pacing is a great mix of actions, political power plays and long forgotten honor.  

The emotional roller-coaster the show puts me through reminds me of Pillars of the Earth, by Ken Follett.  The book was amazing, and even though it was long, the same feelings GoT delivers is what Pillars brought.  You cheer, you cry, and you shout in anger. So far, Game of Thrones has made me experience the same feelings and I look forward to seeing the remaining seasons.

 When school slows down a bit, I must read the novels as well. I have read other Martin stories and they delivered as expected.  Can anyone advise if the GoT books prove worthy?

A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1)

George R. R. Martin’s A Game of Thrones 5-Book Boxed Set (Song of Ice and Fire Series): A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, and A Dance with Dragons

The Pillars of the Earth: A Novel (Kingsbridge)

